We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 78

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Tybur's Avatar
    Tybur is offline The Lord of the Rings Online Team
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0

    Bullroarer client Installer - DOWNLOAD LINKS

    NOTE: If you are having trouble opening the installer links, right click on it and select 'Copy link address'. Then open a new tab on your browser and paste the link there.

    The PC downloader/installer for the Bullroarer Public Preview Client is available:
    The Mac downloader/installer for the Bullroarer Public Preview Client is available:
    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you have upgraded your MacOS to the newest version of Catalina, the LOTRO client will not work. This includes Bullroarer. For more information please refer to this announcement MacOS Catalina Compatibility and threads in the Mac Technical Support for

    Please note: Bullroarer is a Test server. We wipe all data from this server between tests and at other times as our testing requires.
    To download The Lord of the Rings Online Live client installer please visit our website: http://www.lotro.com/en/game/download

    Some Notes:
    • This should not overwrite your existing Bullroarer install if you install by defaults.
    • If you decide to use a custom install, please take note of where the installer wants to install the game by default before changing the path. If it is installing anywhere other than 'The Lord of the Rings Online - Public Preview' by default then please let us know!
    • This is a full installer package. If you already have a working Bullroarer client, you do not need to use this installer.


    Akamai Netsession

    The Akamai NetSession client allows us to quickly and reliably deliver fresh LOTRO client installations to you, and assist in the repair of missing or corrupted files in current game installations. The client utilizes Akamai’s large network of edge servers to deliver this content to you from a location which is deemed geographically closest to you, and ensures that we are able to efficiently and effectively get you what you need to play LOTRO. Although some versions of the Akamai NetSession client used by other software providers utilize Peer-to-Peer technology, we have decided not to use P2P for LOTRO. What this means is that Akamai NetSession will NOT use peer-to-peer when delivering LOTRO-related content.
    Once you install the LOTRO client, or patch your game, it will be possible to uninstall Akamai NetSession from your computer, and NetSession will not reinstall unless it is necessary to deliver a deleted file or a fresh installation. Typical game updates will not require the use of Akamai NetSession.

    Please post any feedback about the installers that you may have in this thread, and please report any bugs you encounter.

    Enjoy!
    Last edited by Kehleyr_SSG; Sep 07 2021 at 09:31 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks for posting a Mac Bullroarer Client again.

    OSX Yosemite 10.10.3

    The Mac Client download has at least one, possibly two problems related to Apple's Gatekeeper software.

    1- Upon launching the file: "The Lord of the Rings Online™.app" verification of the Disk image begins and it immediately pops up with
    "The Lord of the Rings Online™.app" can't be opened because the idenity of the developer cannot be confirmed."

    This is with Apple's default security settings: System Preferences/Security & Privacy/General -- "Allow apps downloaded from "Mac App Store and identified developers only."

    2- Simultaneously a second pop-up from Mac Help appears: "The app has been modified or damaged"

    If you acknowledge the initial pop-up by clicking "OK" the Security & Privacy panel will immediately add: "The Lord o...nline™.app" was blocked from opening because the identity of the developer cannot be confirmed. A button is provided "Open Anyway."

    Verification of the Disk image continues and adds the pop-up ""The Lord of the Rings Online™.app" is an application downloaded from the Internet. Are you sure you want to open it.
    (Should you click "show web page, it goes to Turbine.com, rather than LOTRO.com)

    Clicking Open allows to activity to continue until it crashes to the desktop:

    Process: lotrolauncher [43971]
    Path: /Volumes/VOLUME/lotroLauncher.app/Contents/MacOS/lotrolauncher
    Identifier: com.turbine.lotrolauncher

    =======
    Will file a bug report as well.

    ========
    Correction on crash -- as one can notice from above, being a dunce, I tried to re-launch the installer from the .dmg file instead of the /Applications directory. Naturally it will crash as the .dmg file is read only!
    Duh!

    Launching from the /Applications directory, the download proceeds as expected after the Gatekeeper bypass indicated above.
    Last edited by Valamar; Jun 25 2015 at 09:26 PM.
    Bill Magill Mac Player Founder/Lifetimer
    Old Timers Guild - Gladden
    Sr. Editor LOTRO-Wiki.com

    Val - Man Minstrel (108)
    Valalin - Dwarf Minsrel (71)
    Valamar - Dwarf Hunter (120)
    Valdicta - Dwarf RK (107)
    Valhad - Elf LM (66)
    Valkeeper - Elf RK (87)
    Valwood - Dwarf RK (81)

    Valhunt - Dwarf Hunter (71)
    Valanne - Beorning (105)
    Ninth - Man Warden (66)

    "Laid back, not so serious, no drama.
    All about the fun!"


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    client failed

    I am trying to download the bullroarer client and it keeps failing what am i doing wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,001
    I'm trying to install the Bullroarer client (low resolution to start) and Akamai started downloading several files, then started failing consistentyly with "Unable to decrypt and de-serialize data downloaded from the server."

    Do I need to delete the directory and start over? Once it started giving me this, it keeps coming up with it, including after I reboot to make sure there are no loose connections hanging around.
    Tuco of the Quick Post

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuco View Post
    I'm trying to install the Bullroarer client (low resolution to start) and Akamai started downloading several files, then started failing consistentyly with "Unable to decrypt and de-serialize data downloaded from the server."

    Do I need to delete the directory and start over? Once it started giving me this, it keeps coming up with it, including after I reboot to make sure there are no loose connections hanging around.
    I am having this same issue.. and hope to have it fixed before the test today..

    I am currently trying the delete solution by Finglonger_uk: posted 21 mar 2012
    there's 2 possible fixes for your error but first try restarting the launcher, making sure the icon has gone form the task tray and from task manager before restarting

    then if you still have the same problem browse to your lotro install folder which defaults to c:\program files\turbine\the lord of the rings online\
    program files(x86) on 64bit windows
    find the 4 folders patches, forward, bindat and raw. if any of the folders contain anything delete the contents
    note: some of the folders may already be empty
    restart lotro

    update: I tried the solution above, NOT all the groups were found, but there were a lot of vignettes updated. the launcher started but hung at the same point.. /sigh
    Last edited by TimBenzidrine; Nov 07 2015 at 10:34 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by TimBenzidrine View Post
    I am having this same issue.. and hope to have it fixed before the test today..

    I am currently trying the delete solution by Finglonger_uk: posted 21 mar 2012
    there's 2 possible fixes for your error but first try restarting the launcher, making sure the icon has gone form the task tray and from task manager before restarting

    then if you still have the same problem browse to your lotro install folder which defaults to c:\program files\turbine\the lord of the rings online\
    program files(x86) on 64bit windows
    find the 4 folders patches, forward, bindat and raw. if any of the folders contain anything delete the contents
    note: some of the folders may already be empty
    restart lotro

    update: I tried the solution above, NOT all the groups were found, but there were a lot of vignettes updated. the launcher started but hung at the same point.. /sigh
    Yep, I also tried that, did not help

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    104
    I keep trying to access the server but I keep getting errors. I spend 1-2hrs downloading the server and then when I try to get on it tells me that there was an error connecting to the server. Does anyone know how to fix this issue?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    363

    stuck at this ... not sure why, any help?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Do not run beta server Bullroarer

    What should I do? help me please
    Do not run Bullroarer 404 error,
    Last edited by vlad525; Oct 14 2015 at 04:53 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    0
    well BR is currently offline so not sure if you would be able to get the patch files on a day its down

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    13

    The famous could not patch file; lotroclient.exe error 5

    Right maybe I am too blind, but I tried to find out whether Bullroarer is actually up and running. No such luck.
    My launcher gets stuck at 44% and the the error accours.
    I tried the Adminstrator start and so on. No Change.

    So is the server up? Because it worked just fine last week when had my first look aorund in Minas Tirith.

  12. Oct 21 2015, 07:03 PM
    Reason
    Issue fixed itself

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    8
    I was interested in trying this until I ran into Akamai netsession interface. I don't see a benefit for me, the user, that justifies that enormous application. After three hours it still hadn't finished downloading and it appears that I can't open Bullroarer without installing it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    8

    I can't launch the lord of the ring

    please help me
    I launched the loading of the beta version, which is running, but now when I try to launch the game, the regular version does not start, I can not play until it finishes loading?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy What is wrong with the installing?

    "https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1PWCFBFHPN7OWMwTFMzS Fg4b1E" I have been trying to download the game for the last 3 days now and i just can't seem to move forward to complete the installations...for some reason the files just stop downloading and just does not move any longer...i am excited to join the dev team on thier test on bullrorer today and i am trying my best to download but i just don't seem to able to install the server QQ
    Last edited by Graham12065; Oct 24 2015 at 10:21 AM.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    PC Download.

    What am I doing wrong? I clicked the link for PC download (http://content.turbine.com/sites/cli...tropreview.exe), then clicked on the file I received. This then repeated the download of the same file and labeled it (1). I tried it again, got the same file which was then labeled (2). I know I haven't had my usual IV of coffee, but I should be able to do this. Any suggestions?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6

    Stuck...

    My LotRO-Bullroarer is stuck where it says Installing Pre-Reqs,it is 4 hours like this...Do i have to delete it and download it again..??

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16

    Still getting 201 error

    The server is up today so I tried getting in. Unfortunately I'm still getting the 201 error. It's coming up after I log in and am put in line to get on the server. Does anyone know of a fix for this that doesn't require downloading pricey/suspect software?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    121

    installing bullroarer to target drive rather than default location

    Are there instructions anywhere on how to install Bullroarer client to a designated drive rather than the default drive? When I tried to install it I saw no choice.
    [IMG][/IMG]

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    18
    …. fixed.
    Last edited by Rasdro; Sep 21 2019 at 11:02 AM.

  21. #21
    i downloaded bullroarer today it installed fine but i got launcher screen i logged in and clicked bullroarer server and it said getting i line to connect then it just closed back to desktop never had this happen before

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by Tybur View Post
    • If you decide to use a custom install, please take note of where the installer wants to install the game by default before changing the path. If it is installing anywhere other than 'The Lord of the Rings Online - Public Preview' by default then please let us know!


    I just installed, the default installation path when choosing "custom" was this: C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\The Lord of the Rings Online - Bullroarer
    Fordil of Landroval, Hope Remains kinship

    Check out my Guide for New Players: https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthr...hints-and-tips

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Thornelas View Post
    [/LIST]

    I just installed, the default installation path when choosing "custom" was this: C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\The Lord of the Rings Online - Bullroarer

    It's exactly the same with my install.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3,467
    So another 20 GB download...alrighty...

    This will be my first ever Bullroarer venture, so bear with many silly questions. I will check this BR Forum of course.
    Marancil CHN, Historian Calchiar CPT, Explorer Sturmdrang WDN, Woodsman Anancite GRD, Armourer Tarostel HNT, Armsman Angredeth HNT, Tinker Dromarong GRD, Dwarf
    The Lord of the Rings Online: Community Discord | My in game image hosting: LotroShots

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Thornelas View Post
    I just installed, the default installation path when choosing "custom" was this: C:\Program Files (x86)\Turbine\The Lord of the Rings Online - Bullroarer
    Mine was similar: "C:\Program Files\Turbine\The Lord of the Rings Online - Bullroarer".
    (I'm on a 32-bit platform, which probably accounts for the different Program Files directory.)

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload