We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.

BG on way to twins

Hey all. I'm kind of new to Lotro, however I have managed to get in on a couple BG runs.

One time on the way to twins we did what the leader called a burg pull, having the burg pull a warg then use an ability to hide so the other mobs reset and we killed the ward alone.

Then I tried it with this other group and they all seemed to play well, but they died doing the warg pulls always getting like 5 mobs at once sorcerers and everything. I mentioned the burg pull idea and the raid leader was all miffed and said it was cheating.

I argued with him and he said it was an exploit and cheating and I could do it on other raids but not in his raids.

So I was wondering. Is the 'burg pull' in BG considered a cheat??? Or is it like I thought. Just a legitimate use of the skills Turbine gave us?

Re: BG on way to twins

This was a hot topic way back when the game was first released. The official word from the devs was they didn't have a problem with a Burglar using HIPS this was as it was part of his regular skill set. There were some tricks people would use that made mobs behave like they do when a Burglar does a HIPS pull, but those were exploits. Using game mechanics in an unintended way bad, using your skills good.

Sadly the discussion threads about HIPS have long since been deleted by Turbine as they regularly prune the forums. Some people still think it's an exploit...not much you can do about it if they're dead set against it.
    [LEFT][SIZE=1][COLOR=DarkGreen][B]7 Level 65s: Champ, Hunter, Guardian, Captain, RK, LM, Burglar[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=1][COLOR=YellowGreen] [B]All of them are sick of grinding Scrolls of Empowerment[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=1][COLOR=Red][B]Awaiting change...[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]
    [/LEFT]

Rule #1 if you want to go to a raid dont argue with the raid leader.