We have detected that cookies are not enabled on your browser. Please enable cookies to ensure the proper experience.
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

MIDI2KEY - Using a MIDI keyboard in LOTRO

Hi all,

Backstory
    The original backstory now requires its own backstory. There was once a time when LOTRO did not support .abc file playback. The only way to play music was live, using your computer keyboard. Most people playing with the music system then found this cumbersome and there was a desire to play using a MIDI keyboard instead. Now, onto the original backstory...

So, a few days ago (around the time of this original posting) I started playing LOTRO and immediately fell in love with the music system. I found the keyboard input a little awkward to use, though, as it seems many of you have. I wanted to use my MIDI-capable keyboard instead. So today I wrote a small utility that accepts MIDI data in real-time from all MIDI input devices on your computer and translates the notes into something applicable to LOTRO.

MIDI files to ABC files
    If you're looking to convert MIDI files into ABC files playable on LoTRO's music system, this is not the tool you need. Try this one created by Digero!

Usage
    These instructions assume you already know how to connect your MIDI keyboard to your computer and have already done so.
    1. Download.
    2. Unzip to anywhere.
    3. Run program and follow the instructions that appear on the window for mapping your keys in-game (unless you want your own keymapping, in which case edit the accompanying .ini file).
    4. Then, with the utility running in the background, start up the music system in LOTRO and play your MIDI keyboard.

Turbine's Terms of Service Concerns